January 23, 2024

Cowley Quiz Bowl team wins sectional championship, qualifies for nationals

Cowley College Quiz Bowl A Team

Hosting the NAQT (National Academic Quiz Tournament) Kanas Community College Sectional Championship Saturday in Arkansas City, the Cowley College Quiz Bowl A Team placed first out of eight teams, earning an automatic spot to the national tournament in Chicago on Feb. 23-24.

Cowley A-Team members are Spencer MacLaughlin (SO), Jacob Hamrick (FR), Elias Robson (SO), and Laurence Aggson (SO). MacLaughlin placed third in overall individual high scorers behind only runner-up David Beesley of Seward County and tournament champion Matthew Blood of Garden City. Cowley C team member Ian Aggson placed fourth in the individual standings.

Rhoda MacLaughlin, director of library services and mother of Spencer MacLaughlin, has attended each of the Quiz Bowl tournaments this year and says all four Cowley teams are comprised of stellar individuals.  

“I am amazed at their wealth of knowledge, quality of their character, and work ethic,” MacLaughlin said.

The Cowley B, Cowley C, and Seward County teams ended up in a three-way tie after the seventh round that required a playoff, where Seward earned third place, Cowley B took fourth, and Cowley C placed fifth. Cowley D tied with Coffeyville for seventh place.

Rama Peroo | Director of Institutional Communication
Cowley College
125 S. 2nd Street
Arkansas City, KS 67005