November 08, 2023

Cowley A Quiz Bowl team places first at the Neosho Invitational

Quiz Bowl team

Written by: Rama Peroo and Larry Marczynski. 

Competing at the Neosho Invitational Saturday in Chanute, the Cowley Collegiate Quiz Bowl A team placed first out of 10 teams. 

Cowley had four teams compete at the invitational and was led by the Cowley A team, going 5-0.

“They demonstrated their exceptional knowledge and teamwork,” Cowley Quiz Bowl coach Dianne Flickinger said. 

Spencer MacLaughlin of the Cowley A team and Ian Aggson of the C team emerged as Cowley’s top scorers, tying for third place overall and demonstrating their speed and grasp of topics by answering 20 toss-up questions each. 

“A-team has a diverse set of skills, but we worked well together, which helped us take first,” MacLaughlin said. 

Reflecting on the team’s success, Aggson emphasized, “You don’t have to know everything to be in quiz bowl, but the more diverse our knowledge as a team, the better we do. As long as you find a subject you enjoy, you will have fun and be an invaluable asset to the team.”

Other Cowley A team members were Jacob Hamrick (eighth place), Elias Robson (14th place), and Peyton Williams (27th place). 

The remaining Cowley teams also had respectable performances, with Cowley C taking fourth – with a 3-2 record, Cowley B took sixth – with a 2-2-1 record, and Cowley D took ninth – with a 1-4 record.

The Neosho County A team placed second with a 4-1 record, while Independence finished third with a record of 3-2. Allen Community College and Coffeyville also had teams at the invitational. 

Independence’s Tucker Engstrom and Allen’s Aaron Kubacka tied for the top individual placers at the invitational. 

Danny Ball led the Cowley B team by placing seventh out of 39 competitors, while Larry Marczynski led the Cowley D team by placing 20th. 

Other Cowley Quiz Bowl competitors were Laurence Aggson (tie for eighth), Jillian Stickel (tie for 12th), Cole Batten (tie for 27th), Tyson Lazier (tie for 27th), James Batten (tie for 31st), Aigiza Nasyrova (tie for 34th), and Kaitlin Schmidt (tie for 37th). 

Rama Peroo | Director of Institutional Communication
Cowley College
125 S. 2nd Street
Arkansas City, KS 67005