May 16, 2024

Cowley Students Attend All-Kansas Academic Team Lunch

Cowley President Dr.Michelle Schoon and Drew Perez

The Cowley College Alpha Gamma Upsilon chapter of Phi Theta Kappa proudly announces that several outstanding students were honored at the prestigious All Kansas Academic Team Luncheon on Friday, April 12th, in Junction City, Kansas. This esteemed event aims to recognize academic achievement across the state with community college presidents, board members, and state representatives in attendance. Kansas is just one of thirty-nine states participating in the All-State Academic Team program. 

Students are nominated for the academic team by their college administrators. Students are selected based on their academic achievement, leadership, and service to their communities and colleges.

Among the exemplary students from Cowley College were the following:

  • Emily Howard, Secondary Education Language Arts 6-12 (AA)
  • Rachel Silhan, Graphic Design (AFA)
  • Danny Ball, Pre-Engineering (AS)
  • Drew Perez, Pre-Engineering, Mechanical (AS)
  • Nikole Brinning. Medical Coding Healthcare (AAS)

These students each hold many traits and accomplishments they should take pride in. 

Nicole Brinning is the sole Workforce Pathway nominee from Cowley College and will be entering the workforce post-degree completion with determination and enthusiasm. Rachel Silhan served as a two-month paid intern in the Marketing Office as the lead Graphic Designer. Danny Ball has been a standout on the Quiz Bowl team and served as an ambassador of the college. He was also awarded third place for Achievement in Art at the Spring Regional Conference. Drew Perez is the sole tutor at the Mulvane location and has positively affected student success by sharing his expertise. Drew and Emily also received awards for their Achievement in Literature – Creative Writing submissions at the conference, first and third place. Emily Howard has been a crucial member of the Cowley PTK chapter for the 2023-2024 academic year, acting as the chapter President. To ensure members meet their deadlines, the chapter president leads chapter meetings, coordinates chapter officers, and works closely with chapter advisors. Her exceptional leadership skills and dedication have significantly contributed to the success and cohesion of the PTK chapter.

Students who attended the luncheon joined Cowley College Trustee Dr. Alan Marcotte, college President Dr. Michelle Schoon, and one of their PTK advisors, Julianna Smarsh, where Dr. Schoon presented each student with medals and certificates.

“As their advisor, I am incredibly proud of all their achievements and look forward to seeing where their futures take them. Their dedication, leadership, and passion for learning have left a lasting impression on our campus community." shared Smarsh. 

Phi Theta Kappa is the national honor society for two-year colleges. At Cowley, students must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and complete at least 12 credits (6 credits for certificate-seekers) of college coursework to receive an invitation to join. 

Students invited during this spring semester have until May 31st to accept membership. Summer invitations will be sent out following the conclusion of the summer term. For any questions, please reach out to advisor Janet Clasen.

Hunter Ferguson | Integrated Communications Specialist
Cowley College
125 S. 2nd Street
Arkansas City, KS 67005