December 01, 2023

Cowley College Trap Shooting Club wraps up a successful fall season

fall 2023 trap shooting team

The Fall 2023 USA Clay Target League Competition ended on October 27. This league showcased the exceptional talent of collegiate men and women nationwide. Cowley College Trap Shooting Club had several noteworthy achievements by individuals and the team.

Two outstanding athletes made their mark when they placed in the top 10 females in the Fall trap. Robyn Shaw demonstrated remarkable skill and determination and secured a commendable tie for fifth place. Meanwhile, Jacey McIntire exhibited her talents, earning an impressive eighth place.

The Cowley College Trap Club Team also clinched fifth place in 1A Conference 1 Trap Shooting.

“This achievement represents the team’s competitive spirit and dedication to shooting sports,” said Cowley Trap Shooting Club coach Brooke Istas.

Also, in 1A Conference 1 Trap Shooting, Cowley College Trap Club athletes Robyn Shaw, Jacey McIntire, and Breanna Long were recognized for their skills and accuracy, placing first, second, and third place overall in the 1A Conference 1.

“These remarkable performances underscore the dedication, training, and expense these athletes invest in the Cowley College Trap Club,” Istas said. “Each individual utilizes, at their expense, hundreds of rounds of ammunition for practice to achieve this level of precision.”

The Cowley Trap Club continuously seeks donors to help offset the cost of competition, gear, ammunition, and travel. The Trap Club will hold a raffle at the beginning of 2024 to raise funds to attend the National Championship in March 2024.

Cowley Trap Club seeks to solidify its reputation as a clay target shooting community powerhouse. If interested in donating or applying for 2024-2025 scholarships, please contact Brooke Istas at or 620-441-5596.


First: Robyn Shaw, with a season average of 24.1

Second: Jacey McIntire, with a season average of 23.4

Third: Breanna Long, with a season average of 21.8

Pictured, from left, are Gavin Bowman, Jacey McIntire, Robyn Shaw, Breanna Long, and Raymond Wyssman.

Rama Peroo | Director of Institutional Communication
Cowley College
125 S. 2nd Street
Arkansas City, KS 67005